ABOUT THE BEALS MEMORIAL LIBRARY
Library Director Welcome,
WELCOME TO THE NEW BEALS MEMORIAL LIBRARY! For the first time in the 118 year history of the Beals Library we will truly be opening our doors to entire the community. Through the tireless efforts of the Trustees, our former librarian, Julia White Cardinal, the Friends of the Library, and many others, the town of Winchendon can now boast a fully accessible library building open to all, regardless of physical limitations. Along with the revitalization of the building, we also pledge to renew our commitment to the community through a collection that represents our patron’s desire for life-long learning, and through programs and events that encourage and inspire fresh cultural experiences.
The Beals Memorial Library provides a free and open environment where all may gather for education, culture and information. The library seeks to inspire and encourage literacy, growth and lifelong learning.
The library was built in 1913 with a $10,000 donation by Charles Beals in memory of his wife, parents and siblings. The library has been a gem in the small town of Winchendon and continues to grow.